A Day in the Life

Here I Go Again…

fishing4

“Even a fish wouldn’t get in trouble if it kept its mouth shut.” 

This Korean proverb was a favorite of my dad’s, and growing up in a noisy house of six,  he must have said it to me the most.

It actually took me well into my teen years before I really got the joke, but I knew he what he meant.  I talked back.  I questioned everything.  I had opinions.  I still do, though, in my near middle-age, I’ve learned a thing or two about when to talk and when to listen.

Still, I need an outlet.  Four years ago, I started blogging as The PranaMama and found myself staying up until 2 o’clock in the morning on a regular basis.  For those who have followed me here from The PranaMama.com, thank you!  I’ve missed you and hope to put a new spin on my health and wellness musings here at One Full Plate.

I do, in fact, have a very full plate.  Maybe it’s parenting that has taught me the motivation that comes from having only a moment to spare to accomplish your goals.  Heck, isn’t that why I stayed up so late writing?  You do what you gotta do with the time you have.

For five months, I’ve led a lifestyle that elicits gasps and sympathy from anyone who asks.  I commute two hours each way to a marketing job in downtown Boston, Monday through Friday.   Yes, it’s a long day.  Yes, I am exhausted and miss my family.  But the circumstances that led me to this lifestyle were beyond my control, and so, here I am, blogging from the bus at 7:30 pm.

Despite what many people think, there are a lot of perks to my schedule.  Unlike my years in other professions or as a freelance writer/stay-at-home Mom, I actually get to eat my own lunch, work out at lunchtime and relax with Pandora in my ears and Facebook at my fingertips on the commute.  (And since my nearly two-year-old Alex kicks me in the ribs each night from our “family bed” – something I did not go into lightly – I can actually catch up on sleep!  Now who’s crazy?!)

Through all of this, I have learned to plan my meals, go to bed on time, get to the gym and enjoy every moment.  In five months, I’ve lost 20 pounds, something I tried desperately to do (with little success) for the year and a half prior, after having my third child.    I am in the best shape of my life, having added swimming, strength and high interval training to my formerly ho-hum running regimen.  I also recently gave up gluten and caffeine, and severely cut back on dairy and sugar.

Not only am I a talker, but I’m also a bit of a nerd.  I love to learn, and I’m constantly on the hunt for food and fitness blogs, especially those following a clean, unprocessed diet.   I’m looking forward to sharing things I know, things I don’t know and things that make me go “hmmmmm.”

Who knows?  Like the fish in the old saying, I may just get hooked on blogging, once again!

Leave a Reply

